COLUMBIA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS BOARD MEETING

WORK SESSION MINUTES

April 14, 2009

The Columbia County Board of Commissioners met in a special work session at 9:00 a.m. with Commissioner Rita Bernhard, Commissioner Anthony Hyde and Commissioner Earl Fisher present.

Others present were: Sarah Hanson, Walt Pesterfield, Jan Kenna, Jean Ripa, Ronda Courtney, Jeff Dickerson, Todd Dugdale, Stan Mendenhall, Steve Atchison, Dawn Hunt, Betty Huser, Sue Poling, Ruth Baker, Janet Wright, Dave Hill and Nathan Woodward.

The purpose of this meeting was to allow the Board of Commissioners to meet with county department heads and other elected officials to discuss county departmental business.

Each department head talked about their specific departments and their responsibilities as detailed in the departmental summary provided. Discussion was held on the challenges they all face as a result of the economic downfall, budget cuts and from pending legislative actions.

After discussion, Commissioner Hyde asked for any suggestions on cuts to help the budget deficit. Steve Atchison, District Attorney, stated that his department could reduce one FTE Deputy DA to .6 FTE.

The Board recessed the meeting at 1:00 p.m. and reconvened at 1:30 p.m. Those present were: Commissioner Bernhard, Commissioner Hyde, Commissioner Fisher, Sarah Hanson and Jean Ripa.

Commissioner Bernhard called the meeting back to order.

EXECUTIVE SESSION UNDER ORS 192.660(2)(d) - BARGAINING:

The Board immediately recessed the regular session to go into Executive Session as allowed under ORS 192.660(2)(d). Upon coming out of Executive Session, no action was taken by the Board.

STIMSON PROPERTY:

Janet Wright updated the Board on the proposal to purchase the Stimson property for the Transit System. No decisions were made at this time.

| | | | | | | | | |

Dated at St. Helens, Oregon this 14th day of April, 2009.

NOTE: A tape of this meeting is available for purchase by the public or interested parties.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS FOR COLUMBIA COUNTY, OREGON By:______ Rita Bernhard, Chair By:______ Anthony Hyde, Commissioner By:______ By:_____ Earl Fisher, Commissioner

Jan Greenhalgh, Board Secretary